What lies beneath

05/02/2016 19:36

2015 is now a memory and we are firmly into 2016. Over the past few weeks I have been out a number of times, mainly pike fishing with the odd trip to the river searching for chub. In all cases I had blanked, the reason I put it down to was a heavy frost the day before. The venues I visited are quite shallow so when the temperature drops sufficently it can effect the fish greatly.

 

Keeping an eye on the weather I was pleased to see that this week was milder than the previous few weeks, so it was off to Stoke Place lake to where I had success in the milder conditions during November last year. Armed also with my underwater camera I cast out two deadbaits as well as the camera. Around the camera I sprinkled a few casters in the hope I could get the bait fish feeding and in turn attract the attention of the pike. 

Casters sprinkled over the lake bed

 

For a few hours not a single fish was seen on the monitor, nor had I had any action on the deadbaits, one roach, the other mackerel.  At two o clock I saw the underside of a pike cruise past the camera, most probrably because the camera is coloured like that of a Perch to help it blend in. The camera was about two feet from the surface, pointing 45 degrees down to the bottom of the lake. With both deadbaits about six inches off the bottom I decided to recast them out having reduced the depth they were at.  Half an hour later another or the same pike was curious and nudged the camera for a closer look. I brought in my two rods and cast them either side of the camera, 15 minutes later and again a pike could be seen on the monitor, surely it was only a matter of time before it went for one of my deadbaits. 

My deadbait Roach suspended a few inches from the bottom

 

A few minutes later and one of the floats bobbed, then bobbed again, At first I thought it was a big perch that took the bait as the pike bung barely moved. I picked up the rod and started to wind in the slack line. Once the line was tight, the float was still bobbing without going under. I decided to give a little pull and felt something solid on the end of the line. With the water as clear as it was I could see the pike on the bottom within the margins and half the roach hanging outside of it's mouth. I lifted my rod and the pike swirled, the roach falling from it's mouth but the hook was secure in the corner of the pike's jaw. 

A Pike takes an interest in the camera

 

A good fight ensued, the best fight I have ever had from a Pike to be honest and I was delighted once it finally glided over and into my landing net. Fortunately I was able to unhook the fish while it was still in the landing net before lifting it onto the unhooking mat. Wow what a weight it felt lifting that out of the water, remeniscent of the 28lb Common Carp that I caught last year. Although not much longer than the 17lb Pike I caught in November it was by far deeper in body, straight away I knew it was a PB as well as a 20lb+ fish.  

I zero'd the scales with the weighing sling before lifting the pike into the sling. The needle went round a few times on my Avon scales and read 29lb 10oz. I was stunned, however when I took the sling off the scales the needle didn't return to the 0 as it shaould have done. I weighed again, this time at 24lb 5oz, my scales were clearly not working properly. I phone my dad and told him what I had caught and to bring a set of fishing scales. I place the pike back into the landing net and the fish lay as good as gold as she recovered from the ordeal. As my landing net was snow out of action I retrieved the other rod. A few minutes later another pike became curious of the camera. 

 

About 30 minutes later my father turned up with a set of luggage scales that measured in 5lbs. I wasn't over the moon I can tell you and even less when the needle danced between 20 and 25lb. I settled for 22lb but it could have been more. First thing on my shopping list will be to get another set of scales! It is surprising how much not knowing the true weight of a PB can dampen the day.  Of all the pike I have caught recently all have been on Roach deadbaits, the sea deadbaits have not had a single touch. All the Pike have been caught between 11am and 4pm. All Pik have been caught in mild conditions. With every visit I seem to be gathering more knowledge Pike at Stoke Lake and can't wait for the next mild spell.

Until then, Tight Lines!!