Tanyard Fisheries

07/08/2015 19:47

When I first started the Rod Race League last year it was with the idea that I (and like minded people) would fish for hard to find species other than those found in their local waters, and few fish are harder to find than the Pumpkinseed Fish. After not finding many venues on the internet I guessed where better to fish than the home of the British record, Tanyard Fisheries in East Sussex, just outside Danehill. That led me to watching a Carl & Alex video which in turn led me to watching many more of their videos and now like many other people I'm sure I have become a big fan of theirs. 

Watching these two lads fish to me is a breath of fresh air to angling, they don't go on about whose baits or equipment to use, in fact I have never heard them mention anyone, unlike some of the other fishing videos that seem to spend as much time advertising products than talking about the venue or fishing itself. What is evident is how much they enjoy the sport and the challenges within.

 

So 18 months later I finally arrived at Tanyards Fisheries on a misty Friday morning after dropping my wife off at Gatwick. I had a couple of days all to myself....bliss! I had spoken to the Fishery manager, Chris via e-mail who told me that the best pool to fish for Pumpkinseed Fish was Course Pool 1. Tanyards Fisheries has 7 Lakes from a third of an acre pool to large lakes holding big Carp and even bigger Catfish. A few of the lakes also hold Grass Carp, Koi Carp, Ghost Carp and Goldfish so my plan was to fish the small pond for the Pumpkinseed Fish and then move onto one of the other lakes until early evening before moving to one of the larger lakes to stalk a Carp or two before nightfall. 

My chosen swim for the Pumpkinseed Fish

 

Having googled the Pumpkinseed Fish I knew that they like to hang around in the margins especially with weedy cover. The first swim I came to was just that although when I plumbed the depth it was only 18 inches deep. That had never stopped me from catching big fish in shallow waters in the past so I threw a few maggots into my chosen swim as I made up my rods. My first cast and few minutes later my float bobbed a bit before running towards the reeds. I struck into what was a weird fight reminescent of an eel I caught and unbelievably I caught my target fish on the first cast! Although small it was certainly a beautiful fish. 

My first ever Pumpkinseed Fish!

Despite the small pool being described as a novice pond it does hold some quality fish, especially Crucian Carp, Roach and Rudd with a few good Tench as well, not to mention a few pretty Mirror Carp and stocky Commons. Although the maggots were catching with every cast, it was the sweetcorn that was catching the better quality fish. I can't remember the last time I caught Roach and Rudd of over half a pound on a regular basis. 

All the fish were of a fantastic quality.

 

Having been up since 4am I was keen to get some breakfast in me from the onsite cafe which opened at 9am. With half an hour to go I moved back onto the maggots in search of another, bigger Pumpkinseed. After catching a few small Roach, Rudd and Perch I finally caught another Pumpkinseed Fish, this time slightly bigger and with more vibrant colours than the first, perhaps a different sex from the first one?

A fish like no other!

 

After my welcome breakfast I wondered if the day could get any better. I pondered my next target, both Lakes 2 and 3 were fairly busy being close to the weekend so I took a look at the non carp pool which is said to hold Tench and Bream to 8lb, Roach and Rudd to an impressive 2lb and Koi Carp and Goldfish to 6lb. Perch were also stocked in the lake up to 4lb. At the time I hadn't had much luck this season regarding Tench or Bream and with only one other angler on the lake, who had already caught a few Tench I decided to find a quiet corner and fish a waggler close to some reeds and a leger towards an island. 

The Lake Manager, Chris came round taking tickets on the bank. His attitude towards the pleasure angler was most welcoming. Too many times I have come across bailiffs who talk down to those who are not classed as Carp Anglers, as if they were a species far superior, but at Tanyards I felt that everyone was treated with the same respect and that welcoming attitude was mirrored by the other anglers around the lake. As my first time there I walked around all the lakes and each and every person was polite and cheerful. Basically everyone was there to enjoy themselves and they were! 

It was also evident of the care that had been taken and the work involved to keep the complex looking as beautiful as it was. Set in the East Sussex Countyside I felt miles away from everyday life and in my own little world with mother nature to keep me company. My date with mother nature was soon disturbed with the disappearance of my float and a decent sized Bream was soon in the net of around 3lb. In fact my float rod got rather busy catching around 40 Bream all 3 to 4lb not to mention some decent Roach and Rudd and the occasional Crucian all on sweetcorn. 

The Bream were getting bigger as the day went on.

 

My ledger was not to be outdone as I had a few runs on my hair rigged crab pellet resulting in the odd Bream but mainly Tench, again up to 4lb in weight and all a good quality considering how heavily the lake must get fished. A Credit again to the management at Tanyards and those that fish there. 

One of many Tench

 

Something that I also took joy from as did a couple of other anglers that moved in down the same bank as me was the two kingfishers that were diving into the water in search of fish from an overhanging tree on the central island in front of me. On occasion one would even sit on the end of my fishing rod, although not long enough for me to get a photo of it. For once I had a better day's fishing than the birds!!

 

If I can find one fault with the complex it has to be that the gates lock up at 19:15 which as many anglers will know is sometimes the best time to fish as the night draws in. My plan was to sleep in the car so after everyone from Course Lake 3 left on moved on with my stalking rod to see if I could take a carp or two off the surface. I actually had 6 carp by 9pm, the biggest of which was a Common Carp of 9-10lb

With aching limbs from sleeping in the car I ventured out a 04:30 and had a wander around. The Carp were not on the surface as they were the previous moring so I decided to fish a quiet corner on Course Lake 2 in the hope of a Grass, Koi or Ghost Carp, or maybe a Catfish. The corner I chose was only 18inches deep but as before the fish were there to be caught. Although the lake stocked a bigger stamp of fish I was only catching Bream of around 2lb and the odd 8oz Carp. My legered Polish Sausage was giving the odd bleep and everytime I brought the rod in it seemed to be snagged. The answer soon became clear as I eventually brought it what I first thought was a small branch but turned out to be a large Crayfish, and I'm not joking when I say large either, it was a big as my hand! 

Unlike my time on the River Kennet the Crayfish were not a nuisance and I could only think that the Catfish must certainly eat well. 

 

Knowing that the gate was closing and that I had a long drive home I decided to make a move at 18:30. This mean't that I had a couple of hours left so decided to finish where I started, back on the small pond in search of a bigger Pumpkinseed. Unlike the previous time they never showed but I did catch some very nice Crucians and Rudd.

 

The mature Gunneras and other plants made this one of the most beautiful fisheries I had ever been to.

One of many Crucians

Tanyard also stocks some of the best Rudd I have ever seen.

 

Having had the best days fishing that I can remember I took the long drive home content in the knowledge that I will be back again one day. Once home I was soon telling my father about Tanyard and two days later we were both back at Tanyards, unfotunately so was the rain, although not heavy it was enough to put the Tench and Rudd of their feed. The Bream however were still feeding and my father had Bream up to 5lb on Luncheon Meat. He too fell in love with Tanyards and our next visit will be a night fishing venture in the not too distant future. 

 

Thank-you Chris and Tanyards for a wonderful few days fishing!