Pike Season

14/11/2015 20:11

Hiya!

It has been a while since my last blog and with the Pike season upon us I felt it was high time to tell you about another PB that was broken, in fact it was broken twice in 2 hours! Having been to Stoke Place last week for a spot of spinning for Perch I ended up catch a Pike of 8lb 13oz and losing another four pike, I decided it was time to go back with heavier tackle to try ro make up for those I lost last week.

 

I noticed that the bronze coloured lures brought more attention from the pike, most probably down to the fact that the lake has a large rudd population so I used roach deadbaits that contained an orange dye in them. Instead of spinning I decided to have one deadbait fished on the bottom using the ledger method and another suspended midwater under a pike bung. 

 

Every 20 minutes I recast the pike bung around the edges of the lily pads from where they ambushed my lures the week before, but it was when I cast a bit further out that the bung first disappeared from view. With line running from the spool I pulled into and felt my first pike. A few swirls and a leap in front of me showed me that it was well over a double. Soon after a frantic few minutes the Pike was resting in my landing net, all 15lb 10oz! 

 

 

Last year my Pike PB was 4lb 14oz. Having beaten that in January with a 7lb fish from Colnbrook, and then again with the fish I caught last week I had beat my PB a third time in one year, that was soon to change to a fourth time as, while joined by my parents to see how I was getting on witnessed my ledger rod tip pull round. I struck and before I knew it the Pike had shot 2 swims down the lake through a set of Lily pads. Fortunately she came back through the pads without any trouble and again after an explosive start the Pike gave up and happily drifted into my landing net. 

 

My 17lb 9oz PB

 

Later in the day I had a small Jack Pike of around 3lb, but who cares after beating a PB in such a way. I called it a day and looked forward to my new venture. I have brought myself an underwater video camera and can't wait to use it and see what goes on beneath the surface. Soon I hope to show you some amazing footage, until then........

Tight Lines everybody!