2015 Review

04/01/2016 20:14

So here I sit looking back on what has been a fantastic season of fishing for me with no less that seven PBs. If I was to choose a particular highlight it would be my trip to Tanyard Fisheries, something I had planned to do for a couple of years and when circumstances allowed me to go Tanyard didn't disappoint. I'll be definately going back again in late Spring/early Summer. Another pleasing addition for 2015 was another angler who submitted his photos. It was also great that he belongs to the same syndicate as me and I'm sure he feels the same as me in that we have both benefitted from each other's knowledge. 

 

If I were to choose my top five catches of the season it would certainly start of with my 28lb Common Carp. Having caught a number of 19lbers the 20lb mark seemed close but oh so far away so to break it so convincingly felt like a huge achievement. It also felt like two fingers up to the carp anglers who sneered at my stalking tactics and even said I wasn't a carp angler because I didn't have a bivvy! For the record I am not a Carp angler, but consider myself as a good all rounder, although admittingly my fly fishing needs a lot of work! 

 

 

Close behind that would be my 17lb 9oz Pike. For the last 30+ years my Pike PB stood at a misely 4lb 14oz so to break it 5 times in one year was something I felt all those hours on those cold days finally deserved. Better still was to catch the biggest fish in the presence of my father, I'm sure he even felt a lot of pride when that slid over the net. 

 

 

In third place I'm not going for size, but beauty and rarity. When I first set up the Rod Race League it was with the intention of catching fish one would not normally come across or indeed fish for. Although not of Specimen size, when I first set eyes on my Pumpkinseed Fish it was love at first sight. Although not a native species I am surprised that there are not more waters that stock them, especially given the amount of waters that now stock "ornamentals" such as Koi, Ghosts, Orfes and Golden Tench. 

 

 

In Fourth was another species I had not caught until my visit to Furnace Fisheries last year. Last year I hooked into a huge eel on the River Colne in Stanwell but lost it at the net, I'm guessing it was as long as my leg. Despite specifically fishing for eels for a few sessions after I never hooked into any since. That was until I was pleasure fishing at Furnace, where I hooked into an eel on luncheon meat. Although not as big it certainly took away the regret of losing the one that got away.

 

 

Although coming in fifth, but by no means less pleasurable was a capture of a Mirror Carp. Like most anglers, especially carp anglers I take plenty of photos and when I landed this particular Mirror I recognised a strange red "birthmark" on the side of the fish. When home I realised it was the very same fish I caught the year before. In fact I have caught two Mirror Carp in 2015 that I also caught in 2014. In all cases it was floating bread crust while stalking in the margins between the hours of 18:30 to 20:00. She has multiple clusters of three scales so I have named her "Clover" 

 

"Clover" caught in 2015 at 18lb 4oz

"Clover" caught in 2014 at 17lb 6oz

 

So, what does 2016 hold? Well I have brought two underwater video cameras so I hope to share some great footage of what goes on beneath the surface. One species that has still avoided my capture is the Barbel so I'm hoping to put in some time catching my first Barbel. Although I've broken the 20lb barrier my biggest Mirror is still 19lb so a 20lb+ Mirror is also a target. 

Tight Lines to everyone in 2016!